• Mystic Domain

    From Spaul@21:3/147 to All on Thu Aug 19 21:41:06 2021
    Hi all, just wondering how I set the domain for my telnet address.

    Do I use a registered domain or do I just make something up?

    Newbie here :)

    Cheers
    Spaul

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A46 2020/08/26 (Raspberry Pi/32)
    * Origin: FullSys BBS (21:3/147)
  • From Al@21:4/106.2 to Spaul on Thu Aug 19 20:43:00 2021
    Hi all, just wondering how I set the domain for my telnet address.

    You'll need a dns forwarding service.

    I use noip.com. You can have three domains for free there although they wouldn't mind if you pay them but you don't need to.

    Do I use a registered domain or do I just make something up?

    At noip.com you'll get an address like yourbbs.ddns.net. You just need to sign up and create a domain name and enter the ip address it should point to.

    There are other services like that around also. I think Avon has a service like that for fsxNet nodes to use. It would look like yourbbs.fsxnet.nz, so just find one that works for you.

    --- BBBS/Li6 v4.10 Toy-5
    * Origin: The Rusty MailBox - Penticton, BC Canada (21:4/106.2)
  • From Spaul@21:3/147 to Al on Fri Aug 20 14:05:04 2021
    Hi Al,

    Great thanks so much now I'm headed in the right direction.

    Cheers
    Spaul

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A46 2020/08/26 (Raspberry Pi/32)
    * Origin: FullSys BBS (21:3/147)
  • From Captain Obvious@21:1/157 to Spaul on Fri Aug 20 16:48:50 2021
    On 19 Aug 2021, Spaul said the following...

    Hi all, just wondering how I set the domain for my telnet address.

    Do I use a registered domain or do I just make something up?


    You can either register a domain and make sure it points to your IP (if it's static) or use a dynamic name service and update your IP whenever it changes. I use a combination of the two.

    -=>Richard Miles<=-
    -=>Captain Obvious<=-
    -=>bbs.shadowscope.com<=-

    ... I have a really good memory, except it's short.

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A47 2021/08/04 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: Shadowscope BBS | bbs.shadowscope.com | Temple, GA (21:1/157)
  • From paulie420@21:2/150 to Spaul on Fri Aug 20 22:06:02 2021
    Hi all, just wondering how I set the domain for my telnet address.

    Do I use a registered domain or do I just make something up?

    Newbie here :)

    I forwarding service, like ddns.com, or you can purchase your own domain and point it to your IP. Open ports and have a bbs.mybbs.com name. Depends on what you want...

    mybbs.ddns.org <--- free
    mybbs.org <--- purchase a domain, point to your IP, forward ports



    |07p|15AULIE|1142|07o
    |08.........

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A47 2021/08/08 (Raspberry Pi/32)
    * Origin: 2o fOr beeRS bbs>>>20ForBeers.com:1337 (21:2/150)
  • From spaul@21:3/147 to paulie420 on Sat Aug 21 10:18:10 2021
    Great thanks for the info. I managed to get the domain working yesterday using no_ip.I can Telnet the server from inside my network but not sure if the
    world can.
    Cheers, Spauls

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A46 2020/08/26 (Linux/64)
    * Origin: FullSys BBS (21:3/147)
  • From Al@21:4/106 to spaul on Sat Aug 21 10:16:44 2021
    Hello spaul,

    Great thanks for the info. I managed to get the domain working
    yesterday using no_ip.I can Telnet the server from inside my network
    but not sure if the world can. Cheers, Spauls

    What's your address? We can try from the outside and let you know what we see.

    Ttyl :-),
    Al

    --- GoldED+/LNX 1.1.5-b20180707
    * Origin: The Rusty MailBox - Penticton, BC Canada (21:4/106)
  • From paulie420@21:2/150 to spaul on Sat Aug 21 09:52:28 2021
    Great thanks for the info. I managed to get the domain working yesterday using no_ip.I can Telnet the server from inside my network but not sure
    if the world can.
    Cheers, Spauls

    So.... if you are calling from Syncterm[Netrunner, or another terminal] to your www.mybbs.no_ip.com:#### then you are connecting thru the outside world.

    If you're still connecting to an xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx IP #, thats your local network. Did you open the ports needed to connect to the outside world?

    If your BBS is on port 23, you need to open port 23 on the computers local IP address. THEN your no_ip domain will forward to that computer and the outside world can connect to your BBS.



    |07p|15AULIE|1142|07o
    |08.........

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A47 2021/08/08 (Raspberry Pi/32)
    * Origin: 2o fOr beeRS bbs>>>20ForBeers.com:1337 (21:2/150)
  • From spaul@21:3/147 to paulie420 on Mon Aug 23 13:24:16 2021
    Thanks for the info. Yes I used another port number instead of 23 and everything started working. I'm not sure if my ISP was blocking port 23
    because I was testing it from PortChecker.co and had it open but kept saying
    it was closed. As soon as I opened the port I'm now using it connected.
    Spaul

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A46 2020/08/26 (Linux/64)
    * Origin: FullSys BBS (21:3/147)
  • From paulie420@21:2/150 to spaul on Mon Aug 23 19:22:30 2021
    Thanks for the info. Yes I used another port number instead of 23 and everything started working. I'm not sure if my ISP was blocking port 23 because I was testing it from PortChecker.co and had it open but kept saying it was closed. As soon as I opened the port I'm now using it connected. Spaul

    Saweeet! Glad you got connected, rockstar!



    |07p|15AULIE|1142|07o
    |08.........

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A47 2021/08/08 (Raspberry Pi/32)
    * Origin: 2o fOr beeRS bbs>>>20ForBeers.com:1337 (21:2/150)
  • From Captain Obvious@21:1/157 to paulie420 on Tue Aug 24 12:03:32 2021
    Is your board down currently? Figured I would come check it out and can't telnet or get to it via web.

    -=>Richard Miles<=-
    -=>Captain Obvious<=-
    -=>bbs.shadowscope.com<=-

    ... If all appears to go well, you missed something...

    --- Mystic BBS v1.12 A47 2021/08/04 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: Shadowscope BBS | bbs.shadowscope.com | Temple, GA (21:1/157)